All News

The Oklahoma Energy Resources Board announces new slate of officers and two new members to board of directors

The Oklahoma Energy Resources Board (OERB) is announcing a new slate of officers and two new board members. David Le Norman was elected as the Chairman of the Board of Directors and Kristin Thomas was elected as the Vice-Chairman.

David Le Norman is managing partner of Reign Capital Holdings LLC. He has more than 30 years of experience in the oil and natural gas industry. Kristin Thomas is Senior Vice President of Public Relations at Continental Resources, where she’s worked since 2011, helping build the company’s national prominence as a leading oil producer. Both will serve two-year terms.

The board also elected Shilpa Abbitt of Caliber Resource Partners as secretary and David Ferris of Brownstone Energy as treasurer.

“We are pleased to have Mr. Le Norman as our new chairman,” said OERB Executive Director Mindy Stitt. “His passion for our mission and our state is second-to-none. Along with Ms. Thomas and the other new officers we are excited to continue expanding our programs and do even more great work in Oklahoma.”

Le Norman takes over the chairman role from Mike McDonald, who completed his term as Chairman but will remain on the board.

“Mike McDonald was a tireless leader who spent countless hours working on behalf of our board,” said Mindy Stitt. “As a diligent steward of the oil and natural gas industry’s funding, he developed several efficiencies that led to cost savings while serving even more landowners and educators.”

The OERB is also adding two new members to the board of directors, Greg Shepherd and Aaron Ketter. Shepherd is the District Exploration Manager for Mewbourne Oil Company, where he works alongside a team of geologists, landmen and engineers with a focus on oil and natural gas prospects across western Oklahoma. He has been in the company in various capacities since 2003. Ketter holds the position of Vice President of the Mid-Continent and South Texas Business Unit for Devon Energy.  His multi-discipline teams are responsible for creating and executing the corporate strategy encompassing financial performance, capital program, and business development opportunities.

The OERB is governed by an unpaid 21-member board and is funded by more than 2,500 producers and thousands of royalty owners across Oklahoma through a voluntary one-tenth of 1 percent assessment on oil and natural gas production. Since 1993, the agency’s purpose is to conduct environmental restoration of abandoned well sites and to provide energy education in Oklahoma.